Green Smoothie Recipe

Okay folks, you may have heard about the green smoothie craze. I don’t know who started it, but it’s popular among raw food vegans, which may give omnivores pause. Don’t worry! This thing actually tastes good and it sure helps to clean out the fridge.

Fresh Ginger Green

This sweet baby has a little ginger kick to it!

Ginger Green Smoothie:

1 cup baby spinach

1 cup orange juice

juice of 1/2 lemon

1/4 inch knob of fresh ginger, peeled

1/2 cup plain or fruity frozen yogurt

Combine and blend until smooth and frothy. For more froth (and cold) add ice.

Do you have some wilty fruit in the fridge? Toss that in. Red berries will change the color of the drink, but it’ll still taste good. This ratio of baby spinach to other stuff does not taste like spinach at all to me, and I pair it with a tall cup of green tea for an afternoon pick me up.

If that’s not enough greens for you, try this next one:

Banana Green Smoothie (also good for beginners!)

1 medium banana

2 cups spinach

1/2 cup greek nonfat yogurt

1/2 berries (good frozen! Chills the drink and they’re ripe out of season.)

Blend until thick and smooth.

This one is good for using up really ripe bananas; it usually means you won’t have to add sweetener. I have this one instead of a meal since it tends to be thicker.

Experiment with your own! People report using all kinds of greens (kale, chard, collard, “adult” spinach) but I prefer to eat those for dinner since they have more tooth than baby spinach. Also, the one time I used regular spinach in a smoothie even banana couldn’t cover the taste.

 

That’s it for now! So many life changes, you don’t even know. I will be trying to get back into blogging since I have lots of homework to procrastinate on. I expect to get you recipes, garden pictures, perhaps a few dog photos and maybe some diy. Oh, nail polish? If I pick up a new one. Not only have I moved far away from my usual convenient nail polish retailers, I have just been loving to wear the collection I have!  I know, crazy.  Good night and good luck!

Tags: , , ,

Helloooo world

