French Toast for Friday

IMG_1506.JPG

The weekend and leisurely breakfasts approach! I think it’s about time for some French toast. When I buy a baguette or boule of sourdough, I like to make breakfast with the leftover or slightly stale portion I always seem to have.* This recipe will use up about half a loaf, sliced 1/2 inch – 1 inch thick according to your preference.

In a bowl, beat an egg. Add 1/2 cup milk, 2 tablespoons sugar, a pinch of cinnamon, and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. Soak the bread slices in the egg mixture until it has all been absorbed.

Next, melt a pat of butter in a frying pan over medium heat and sprinkle both sides of the French toast slices with additional sugar. When the butter is frothy, add the bread slices and cook until golden brown. Don’t let the pan get too hot or the middle of the toasts won’t have time to cook before the surfaces burn.

IMG_1507.JPG

I drizzled this batch with a little wildflower honey, but I prefer French toast without syrup if I can have a lot of fresh fruit.

*Side note: slightly stale bread never gets thrown out around here. If it isn’t destined for French toast, I throw it into the food processor and pulse until I have homemade bread crumbs. They seem to keep pretty well in a ziploc in the freezer. Occasionally, I will cube the leftover bread and make croutons, which are great for chopped salads panzanella-style. More on that later, I hope!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Helloooo world

