Kefta for dinner and lunch

IMG_1474.JPG

One of my favorite things is when cooking once gets me more than one meal. This, my friends, is one of those recipes. It’s a bit of an adaptation of the Kefta and Zucchini Kebabs recipe from my go-to food blog, Smitten Kitchen. I tinkered with it enough times that I’m confident I can whip these up on a weeknight with stuff I most likely already have in the pantry. I’ve had good luck doubling the recipe, so adjust the quantities to reflect your hunger, the number of times you want leftovers, etc. – I just bet that they would do fine in the freezer. (We never have any left after a day or two, so I haven’t tried it myself.) These little grilled meatballs have the savory-spice flavors from my favorite falafel restaurants, and the toasted pine nuts give them a great bite! Plus they fit nicely in my lunch box.

Obviously, you can substitute whichever ground meat(s) you’d like to use. Unlike Deb, I’m a huge fan of lamb – I just have ground beef around way more often. I wanted to try one final iteration before I hit publish, which was to substitute chia seeds for the panko/bread crumbs. The chia seed binder will allow this recipe to be used by people looking for low-carb option. Throw some roasted beets on the side – delicious! I have paired them with this mashed cauliflower recipe, but it was way too garlicky for me.

1 small onion, minced
1 clove of garlic, minced
1/4 cup of chopped fresh Italian parsley (I’ve skipped this without harming the recipe)
1 pound of ground beef (or lamb, or turkey, or bison, or pork, or whatever! They weren’t even dry with 96% lean beef.)
1/4 cup pine nuts, chopped and then toasted – this gets you more toasted surface area, but you can also use already toasted pine nuts and roughly chop them.
2 tablespoons chia seeds OR 1/4 cup panko/bread crumbs
IMG_1815.JPG

Mix all ingredients in a bowl, then form into 1.5 inch meatballs. Throw them under the broiler for 3 minutes, turn, then broil until just cooked through – 3 more minutes.

Grab some yogurt dip and dig in!

IMG_1817.JPG

Tags: , , , ,

2 Responses to “Kefta for dinner and lunch”

  1. dimshum Says:

    I’ve never tried kefta before but it looks and sounds delicious:D

Helloooo world

